Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.

Thread: Satellite U940 - Battery Life decrease with Windows 8.1 update

1. Satellite U940 - Battery Life decrease with Windows 8.1 update
    Beginner
    Hi, prior to upgrading to windows 8.1 i would usually get about 4 to 5 hours of battery usage. However after updating to windows 8.1 this has significantly reduced to about 1.5 to 2 hours doing the exact same things with nothing changing . I have contacted toshiba who provided me with a replacement battery however this issue still persists. I have followed to the letter on how to update 8.1 following all instructions.

I am not really good with computers but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. Re: Satellite U940 - Battery Life decrease with Windows 8.1 update
    Huh it is not easy to say what is wrong there. In front of me I have U940-103 with Win8.1.
    Three weeks ago Iíve updated original preinstalled Win8 with Win8.1 and after battery test I didnít notice any difference.
    With full battery I can watch two movies without problems so with full battery I can use my Satellite U940 up to 4 hours.

It is not easy to say if the reason for lower battery capacity Win8.1 is.
    I don't know if you want to do this but it will be interesting to know if something will change if you install original recovery image again.

3. Re: Satellite U940 - Battery Life decrease with Windows 8.1 update
    Beginner
    I know it has something to do with windows 8.1 because due to the poor battery life I decided to refresh my laptop back to windows 8 and my original battery recovered and my battery life was back to normal. So I know its not my battery which is faulty.

4. Re: Satellite U940 - Battery Life decrease with Windows 8.1 update
    How did you proceeds with Windows 8.1 upgrade?