Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can I install 16GB on Portege R830-10P?

  1. Can I install 16GB on Portege R830-10P?
    #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6
    Hi,

    Info about R830-10P:
    [Datasheet|http://pt.computers.toshiba-europe.com/Contents/Toshiba_pt/PT/Others/PDF/monofolhas/PT_PT_PortgR830-10P_POS_Sep2011_2p_CR_4792_low.pdf]

    [Drivers page|http://pt.computers.toshiba-europe.com/innovation/jsp/supportMyProduct.do?service=PT&ID=smp-product-results&userAction=SMP_RESULTS_PAGE&partNumber=PT3 21E-00U010EP&USER_ACTION=Auto-detect]


    According to:
    [Intel ark: i7-2620M|http://ark.intel.com/products/52231/Intel-Core-i7-2620M-Processor-4M-Cache-up-to-3_40-GHz]

    The processor i7-2620M supports up to 16GB of RAM. As the memory controller is embedded in the CPU, the chances of supporting 16GB of RAM are real. But the notebook datasheet says that the maximum RAM is 8GB.

    Does anyone had success installing 16GB of RAM in a similar model of notebook?

  2. Re: Can I install 16GB on Portege R830-10P?
    #2
    Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,662
    > The processor i7-2620M supports up to 16GB of RAM.
    And what is with chipset? You have already maximum RAM inside (8GB).

  3. Re: Can I install 16GB on Portege R830-10P?
    #3
    Master
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,255
    Hi

    The chipset is Intel QM67 and this chipset supports max 8GB RAM
    So 16GB is not possible.

  4. Re: Can I install 16GB on Portege R830-10P?
    #4
    Beginner
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6
    I found no reference about 8GB limit at:

    http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/chipsets/performance-chipsets/mobile-chipset-qm67.html
    http://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/public/us/en/documents/specification-updates/6-and-c200-chipset-specification-update.pdf

    According to Chipset diagram, QM67 has no direct relation to the memory. So if there is a 8GB limit, what is limiting the maximum memory to 8GB?

  5. Re: Can I install 16GB on Portege R830-10P?
    #5
    Beginner
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6
    Hey xaver and RandyRoberts,

    I guessed correctly. The notebook supports 16GB of RAM. :-)

    Check it out: http://blog.parahard.com/2013/01/toshiba-r830-and-16gb-of-ram.html

    Message was edited by: peter.senna

  6. Re: Can I install 16GB on Portege R830-10P?
    #6
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,030
    Hi Peter

    Can you please post screenshot from Windows “System” option (Control panel)?
    Just as evidence that Windows uses 16GB of RAM.

  7. Re: Can I install 16GB on Portege R830-10P?
    #7
    Beginner
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6
    Hi as***,

    [Windows screenshot|http://petersenna.com/files/16gbw.jpg] .

  8. Re: Can I install 16GB on Portege R830-10P?
    #8
    Master
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,512
    Cool! Did not known that 16GB are possibe! Thanks for the great feedback!

  9. Re: Can I install 16GB on Portege R830-10P?
    #9
    Beginner
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6
    The memory controller is embedded in the CPU, so there is no interference from external chipset. The old north and south bridge model with two different physical chips on the mother board has changed. A lot of hardware that was in the north bridge are now embedded in the CPU.

    I think that the problem is that the documentation of the R830 came from the documentation of R700 that used the i7-620M. The first generation of i7 supported a maximum of 8GB and Toshiba has not updated its user documentation to reflect the updated specs of the CPU.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •