Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Tecra A10 - No Sound using Win XP

  1. Tecra A10 - No Sound using Win XP
    #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    Hello at all,
    I have some Problems with the sound of my Toshiba Tecra A10. I already installed the Realtek Audio Driver and I see the little Speaker symbol down on the right side,too.

    But I hear nothing. The Device Manager has a yellow Question Mark on "Modem Device on High Definition Audio Bus".

    I Installed the Agere Systems Modem, but nothing happened.

    Can someone help me and give me a link for this Driver I need.
    I use Windows XP.

    Hardware Detail:

    HDAUDIO\FUNC_02&VEN_11C1&DEV_1040&SUBSYS_11790001& REV_1002\4&9E9AEC4&0&0101

    Regards,

  2. Re: Tecra A10 - No Sound using Win XP
    #2
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    4,758
    > I use Windows XP.

    Ok, I though similar issues with Win XP on other notebooks with new HD audio from Realtek.
    The point is that you need SP2 and SP3!

    The SP2 and SP3 provides important fixes and patches for HD audio…
    So first of all uninstall the installed Realtek audio driver.
    Then install the SP2 and SP3.
    Then go to the device manager and delete the devices marked with yellow exclamation mark.
    Then reboot the notebook.
    Now Win XP should found a new audio device and should ask for the driver.
    No you should install the sound driver from Realtek.
    Reboot once again… and now the sound should works fine…

  3. Re: Tecra A10 - No Sound using Win XP
    #3
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    Hello,

    Thanks for this fast help.
    I do the steps you told me, but when I install the Realtek Audio Driver, they don`t install the driver for the Modem on High Defintion Audio Bus.
    The Agere HDA Modem Driver don`t work, too.

    I have installed the Service pack 3.

    Can you help me again?

  4. Re: Tecra A10 - No Sound using Win XP
    #4
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,908
    Try this patch from Microsoft:
    +Universal Audio Architecture (UAA) High Definition Audio class driver version 1.0a available for Windows XP, Windows Server 2003, and Windows 2000+
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/888111

    Additionally I recommend installing the Modem driver from Toshiba page

  5. Re: Tecra A10 - No Sound using Win XP
    #5
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    Hello,

    thanks for this, but it doesn`t work on SP3.
    Now it installs the HD Audio Modem as Toshiba Sofware Modem and there is no Sound. I don`t understand this

    Please help me :)

  6. Re: Tecra A10 - No Sound using Win XP
    #6
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,908
    Then go to device manager and remove the devices marked with yellow exclamation mark once again. Remove the sound card which you can find under sound, video gaming controller too and reboot.
    Otherwise you could remove the SP3 from the system and could try the MS patch once again. Then install the SP3.

    Here interesting thread:
    http://forums.computers.toshiba-europe.com/forums//thread.jspa?messageID=113124

  7. Re: Tecra A10 - No Sound using Win XP
    #7
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    I do everything what you told me.
    I had removed SP3 and installed the Hotfix. After this I install the Audio Drivers -> No Sound.
    Yes this Thread is very interesting and I done all thing they say, but nothing worked.

    Have you an other idea?

  8. Re: Tecra A10 - No Sound using Win XP
    #8
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,908
    Just one question: did you try the newest Realtek sound driver which is available and could be downloaded directly from Realtek page?
    Do this! Try the newest version…
    Furthermore does the yellow exclamation mark appear in device manager even after the installation of the MS fix?

  9. Re: Tecra A10 - No Sound using Win XP
    #9
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    First of all, thanks for your help,

    Yes, I use the latest driver from the Realtek Page.
    I have only one yellow Question Mark for the Fingerprint Device, but I think this doesn`t matter.
    I have the same Laptop in the office with the same settings and drivers and there is sound. I can not make an image from the other Laptop.

  10. Re: Tecra A10 - No Sound using Win XP
    #10
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,908
    > I have only one yellow Question Mark for the Fingerprint Device, but I think this doesn`t matter.
    This means that the sound driver and the High Definition Audio class driver version are installed properly.

    Maybe the sound is muted?
    Test Fn + ESC or go to device manager -> sound and check the settings there.

    There is also an document about muted sound with Vista… not sure if this would help you with Win XP but check this.
    http://aps2.toshiba-tro.de/kb0/TSB7C021B0001R01.htm

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •