Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600

  1. NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    Hi,

    After installing windows 7 it does not appear that the graphics driver are proper installed.
    I am stuck in 800x600.
    I have scanned through the other threads here seeing people have the same problem,but after trying all the different tricks it still not working.

    I`v tried the asus drivers,the auto detect, drivers from amd/ati site but still i cant change resolution.
    Is there any other drivers i need to install after a fresh installation of win 7 to get this to work?

    Any thing?

  2. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #2
    You have installed Win7 32bit, right?
    Have you installed THIS driver?

  3. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #3
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    Its Windows 7 32 premium, and i have tried that driver but with no luck :(

  4. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #4
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,771
    Did you see this thread?
    http://forums.computers.toshiba-europe.com/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=64484

  5. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #5
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    Yes, tired it and are still not able to change resolution.
    I dont understand it. When i right click the desktop the ati controll center apper at the top, but would not open when i click it.

  6. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #6
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,622
    I assume the resolution is ok using Win 7 64bit…. Right?
    Did you try to repeat the whole installation?

    I mean the other guys managed to install the driver and to get proper resolution... so it should work for you too..

  7. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #7
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    I have not tried to install win 7 64. You think that would make a difference? Will it run win 7 64?
    I tried with 2 different win7 32. Ultimate and premium, and still stuck i 800x600.

    If i run the Windows performance test it gives me 1 in the two graphics test boxes.
    Starting to get a bit frustrated :(

  8. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #8
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,622
    > I have not tried to install win 7 64. You think that would make a difference? Will it run win 7 64?
    Why not… its worth a try

    PS: is your BIOS up to date?
    Did you set BIOS to default?

  9. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #9
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    The bios was up to date. 1.4 I think.

    And its still the same problem with windows 7 64..why is this so hard to get rigth om this computer?

  10. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #10
    Hi

    Did you follow the instruction as mentioned by vincentvega51.
    - unpack the Display Driver
    - double-click the file TC40155300A and unpack this to desktop
    - Go to Device Manager and choose your graphic card
    - Update the driver
    - Use the advanced installation procedure
    - next steps follow as: Packages->Drivers->Display->W7_INF
    - take off the hook on the top off the page about Compatibility.
    - Push forward and you will see a list where you can choose Radeon HD 6290.
    - Press forward and install even the system warns you.
    - Now you restart your system


    By the way: How about the driver from Toshiba AU driver page:
    http://www.mytoshiba.com.au/support/computers/nbseries/nb550d/pll5fa-00j01s/download?os=24

  11. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #11
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6
    I tried doing just what you said,but when I come to "Push forward and you will see a list where you can choose Radeon HD 6290" the 6290 does not show up in the list. It goes to HD 4800 or something.
    So I cant find my card in the list.

    And the drivers from the AU page is the same 300A drivers that I`v tried before and with the same results :(

  12. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #12
    Seems that the ini file does not contain the 6290 GPU model:
    Did you test the above procedure using the driver from ATI page:
    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

    1/ Notebook Graphics
    2/ Radeon HD Series
    3/ Radeon HD 6xxxM series
    4/ Windows 7 - 32 bit

  13. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #13
    Akuma
    Guest
    Have you installed the AMD Chipset driver from the Toshiba website?

    The chipset needs to be working correctly before the graphics can work properly at the native 1024 x 600

    If all else fails, you may need to install the original Win7 starter image, remove any unwanted software, and upgrade Windows to Home or Pro if needed.

  14. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #14
    Here are also some Win 7 64 bit drivers:
    http://driverswin.com/toshiba-nb550d-drivers-windows-7/

    The graphic card driver is mentioned too... worth a check!

  15. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #15
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1
    If you have a 64 bit processor and you have installed 32 then it wont work. Try to change the OS to 64 Bit..


    thank you

  16. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #16
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1
    Hi!
    I subscribed to this site just because this very thread. I'm falling into the same issue: 800x600 resolution, tried video drivers but no luck. I'm trying 32 bit drivers for 32 bit windows 7.

    Which the chipset driver is? I've installed ahci driver but still no luck. Do you know the right one?

    My windows device panel reports an "ACPI/TOS6205" unknown device too, but I've no clue about it.

    Thanks
    Luca

  17. Re: NB550D-115 stuck in 800x600
    #17
    > My windows device panel reports an "ACPI/TOS6205" unknown device too, but I've no clue about it.
    ACPI\TOS6205 -> Toshiba Bluetooth

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •