Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Touchscreen is not working on old Portege M400

  1. Touchscreen is not working on old Portege M400
    #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    I am trying to restore an old Toshiba Portege M400. I have WIN XP Tablet 2005 installed and what I think are all the drivers. Everything works great except the touchscreen.

    I have been all over the web, downloaded and installed some WACOM drivers aswas suggested in another thread here - still no luck.

    Anybody have any ideas or experience about how to fix this?

  2. Re: Touchscreen is not working on old Portege M400
    #2
    Unfortunately I don’t have this Portege and cannot help you with this but what you can do is to check Installations Instructions document and check if you have installed all stuff listed there.

    Check it out and post some feedback.

  3. Re: Touchscreen is not working on old Portege M400
    #3
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    I have installed everything (except the VALUEADD and SUPPORT folder files) - nothing is showing up as NOT INSTALLED in Device Manager.
    I did not install everything quite i the correct order - can that be the problem?
    Also, would I be better off going with Windows 7?

  4. Re: Touchscreen is not working on old Portege M400
    #4
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    I meant to write this before - if the touchscreen were working, wouldn't I be able to use my fingernail or or a pencil eraser to tap with (I do not have any sort of stylus) just to test it?

  5. Re: Touchscreen is not working on old Portege M400
    #5
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    Anyone?

  6. Re: Touchscreen is not working on old Portege M400
    #6
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    4,757
    >wouldn't I be able to use my fingernail or or a pencil eraser to tap with (I do not have any sort of stylus) just to test it?

    In my knowledge you need the Pen in order to use the touchscreen.
    As far as I know there are two pens in the portege M400.
    The reserve pen can be found at the bottom of the unit… there should be a slot including the second pen.

  7. Re: Touchscreen is not working on old Portege M400
    #7
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    Got a Toshiba stylus and it worked!
    Thanks to everyone

  8. Re: Touchscreen is not working on old Portege M400
    #8
    Thanks for the feedback!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •