Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 37

Thread: Camileo S30 Will Not Power Up Issue ?

  1. Re: Camileo S30 Will Not Power Up Issue ?
    #11
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    hey,
    i have the same problem with *3!!* S30 cameras! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    i keep raplacing the cameras from the store since it's brand new ! i bought it in December 2012
    and after 2 or 3 videos, the same problem and nothing happens whatever of the solutions i tried from the forum.
    I changed the 16GB HCSD with a smaller of 1GB nothing!
    i took the battery out and back again nothing!
    i plaged it in power and it turned on and then guess what... nothing!!
    i am going to the store to get my fourth camera
    allthought when i called at the service they told me that nothing has changed in the software of all Camileo S30!!!!. and i should change it again!! with the same camera...... with the same problem!!!!!!

    Great service support!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    and it's not a Greek problem...it's worldwide.......

  2. Re: Camileo S30 Will Not Power Up Issue ?
    #12
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8
    Hi
    I Used The Link i Posted Above and Got a Rma On The Camera,Toshiba Replaced It So Am Keeping My Fingers Crossed,Like you say its a worldwide problem with this camera

  3. Re: Camileo S30 Will Not Power Up Issue ?
    #13
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    The Camileo S-30 is a great little camcorder - when it works! I own two and today neither one was working. Unit #1 the screen is out, nothing shows up. The Toshiba logo did appear for a second then it just went blank. I can get the photo or movie light or even the white led to go on, and it will record or take photo's and they store on the SD card. But what good is it when you can't see or access the touchscreen functions? It must be a firmware bug or two or more! Since the logo will sometimes appear, I guess its not a case of the flexi-cable wiggling out of its socket.

    Still, while I can't get anything to appear on the touchscreen of unit #1, if attempt to make a movie or photo's, and then I take out its SD card and put that SD card into the "other" Camileo S-30 I can view the photo's and/or movies. Now that "other" Camileo S-30, it sometimes suffers from the "Plays Dead" will not power up syndrome that a dozen people have complained about on this forum.

    There seems to be no rhyme or reason when unit #2 will work or not work. If I plug in the charger in and then remove the battery and put the battery back in, then press the power button, sometimes it will start up. Today is Sunday and unit #2 seems to be working well. Friday I charged it up for a long time, basically overnight. The photo and movie lights were flashing for quite a few hours. Then they became constantly lit, which I gather means a fully charged battery. However, the battery indicator shows four sub-sections, the top four are green and the bottom four are yellow. Does this mean - the battery is losing its charge capability? Should it register all greens for a new battery? This battery has always been showing green and yellows like that. At the present time, I've only got one battery between the two S-30 sets, I guess I should start saving up to buy a few more batteries.

    -Steven

    Message was edited by: slbender

  4. Re: Camileo S30 Will Not Power Up Issue ?
    #14
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1
    Same issue here. I believe the problem could be related to overcharging the battery. When fully charged my battery reads 4.2V and the camera will not work. Discharging the battery down to 3.7 volts, which the battery is rated to, the camera will now turn on. What ever the real issue is, it needs to be resolved. Toshiba are still selling these devices. They should take a look at How Apple recently handled a safety issue with the original iPod nano's regardless of age, they replaced them with new. :- Brilliant service from Apple. 0/10 from Toshibia.

  5. Re: Camileo S30 Will Not Power Up Issue ?
    #15
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Hi NickC_1,

    Say you might be on to something with the battery voltage there ... Hmmm.

    I just ordered three new Camileo S-30 batteries from China, and when they get here, in about two weeks, I'm gonna get out my Fluke meters and spend a few hours doing some experiments, at which point I'll have four batteries and more than four Camileo S-30's to play with.


    -Steven

  6. Re: Camileo S30 Will Not Power Up Issue ?
    #16
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8
    Hi
    It is definately a manufacturing/Firmware issue,Toshiba replaced mine under warranty/rma, Still dont trust it though,I Have previously posted the warrant claim link on this thread

  7. Re: Camileo S30 Will Not Power Up Issue ?
    #17
    Beginner
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2
    hi, does anyone know if toshiba will honour the warranty if it doesnt have the genuine battery in it? my s30 does exactly the same, sometimes powers up and others it wont!!

  8. Re: Camileo S30 Will Not Power Up Issue ?
    #18
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3
    Come on Toshiba! Surely this is an obvious problem that needs to be addresssed?

    This is really poor form from a big company that created this forum to ensure continuous impovement.

    Its obvious it has someting to do with the three terminals that touch the battery. They must operate like switches internally. I gave mine a careful push down so they connect a little better and away it went.

    This is only a short term fix to get the camera going. It needs to be repaired so it doesnt keep happening happen.

    I also have a file that didnt finalise and is unusable. Just happens to be a 20min video of my dads 90th birthday. Precious memories entrusted to a new camera. This is also a common fault that Toshiba have not addressed or supplied an answer for.

    If a Toshiba representative reads this note I suggest you pass it on to someone who can take action and supply some positive answers for the people of this forum. You have my email address. Please let me know where to take my camera in Adelaide to have it repaired or replaced.

    Surely a tech savvy company such as Toshiba will be able to help me finalise that 20minute file so I can get back my precious video.

    PLEASE HELP rather than ignore these problems!!!

    Regards Brian

  9. Re: Camileo S30 Will Not Power Up Issue ?
    #19
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1
    Please try to clean your SD card (reformat) on a PC and then insert to CAM.

    Please report if this helps.

    I found such solution

    +Remove battery. Unplug charger. Press and hold the power button for 20 - 30 seconds. While still holding the power button, re-insert the battery and/or plug in the charger. Voila! Came back to life and worked like nothing ever happened.+

    +I also did the same thing with the record button, but it was the power button that got the result.+

    +Hope this helps!+


    Raffie

  10. Re: Camileo S30 Will Not Power Up Issue ?
    #20
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    2
    I was dismayed as I read this thread after buying the S30 direct from Toshiba in July 2012. Camera was great on holiday, good results and worked fine for 8 weeks. So very happy.
    Then put on charge 3 days ago.

    Battery seemed to charge ok but now S30 doesn't switch on with flip up screen!
    Have managed to get it working by removing battery, replacing then plug in ext power. and press power button. It then appears to switch on and off ok.

    Leave it off for half an hour and it won't switch on without battery in/out routine.
    Took SD card out to work on internal memory and still the same.

    Now registered a return with Toshiba under warranty.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •