Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Re: Satellite A300 - how can I make the webcam work on Win7

  1. Satellite A300 - how can I make the webcam work on Win7
    #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    Hello everyone.

    I had Win Vista installed on this Satellite A300 and it worked ok.
    I had no problems at all.

    Then I moved to Win7 and now I'm going through the ordeal of making the webcam work.
    I have tried installing all kinds of drivers, even the ones for A500, but it would be no use.

    So, how can I make the webcam work on my A300?

    I've tried everything, even installing Ubuntu on this laptop and still it wouldn't work. If it's of any of your interest, I'm running Win7 in Spanish, x32, Home Edition.

    I really need your help here, please, I beg you, I've spent the past 5 days trying almost EVERYTHING!!
    And still I'm getting the message after every installation/reboot of: "La camara web esta deshabilitada o ha fallado. Por favor, compruebe las configuraciones de su camara web", which would translate into something like "The webcam is disabled or it has failed. Please check your webcam configuration". I have been browsing the forum for related problems but i found no solution :(

    Thanks in advance,

    Ozma.

  2. Re: Satellite A300 - how can I make the webcam work on Win7
    #2
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,899
    Hi

    Seems that webcam software has not been installed properly.
    What Win 7 OS are you using? 32bit or 64bit?

    Here you can find Chicony webcam driver for Win 7 64bit
    http://support1.toshiba-tro.de/tedd-files2/0/webcam-20091026100013.zip

    and here you can find Chicony webcam driver for Win 7 32bit
    http://support1.toshiba-tro.de/tedd-files2/0/webcam-20091023184836.zip

    Good luck

  3. Re: Satellite A300 - how can I make the webcam work on Win7
    #3
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    Hi! Thanks for the help, but the problem is still there. I tried uninstalling the drivers I had before, restarted, then installed the ones you suggested, restarted and the problem is STILL there. The same error message pops-up when booting.

    I'm running Windows7 32bit. Could it be that using the Spanish language version of Win7 is the cause of the problem? I don't know what to do...

  4. Re: Satellite A300 - how can I make the webcam work on Win7
    #4
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    I also installed the TEMPRO utility, and I get alerts of possible updates for my Toshiba. I tried installing the firmware and BIOS update, and both would give me an error. May be it is all related.

  5. Re: Satellite A300 - how can I make the webcam work on Win7
    #5
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,899
    Hi

    The language does not matter… so there must be other problem.
    Did you install VAP (value added package)?
    You should do this!

  6. Re: Satellite A300 - how can I make the webcam work on Win7
    #6
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    Nope, no changes :( I installed that pack, I didn't have it. I don't know how it improved my computer, but anyway, I did.

    Still the camera is not working... Any more ideas?

  7. Re: Satellite A300 - how can I make the webcam work on Win7
    #7
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,899
    hmm... seems there are some issues which are realted to the installed OS...
    Maybe you should install the OS once again and should install all the Toshiba sofware too.
    Then check webcam functionality before installing any other 3rd party software.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •