Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Satellite A100 and memory upgrade

  1. Satellite A100 and memory upgrade
    #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    Satellite A100-523. Why can I only increase my memory to 1536MB & not 2048MB as stated in product scan?
    The laptop will not fire up on 2048MB.

  2. Re: Satellite A100 and memory upgrade
    #2
    Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,781
    Has your notebook shared memory graphic card?

  3. Re: Satellite A100 and memory upgrade
    #3
    Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,927
    Hello

    That means you upgraded the RAM to 2GB but now you are not able to start the notebook, right?

    Well, the problem could be related to the RAM modules. What modules you have used for upgrading?

  4. Re: Satellite A100 and memory upgrade
    #4
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    Yes, it is shared. Does this make a difference?

  5. Re: Satellite A100 and memory upgrade
    #5
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    The modules are the ones recommended by the 'Crucial' scan.

    2 x 1GB 200 pin DDR2 (PC2-5300) SODIMM. Speed 333MHZ (DDR2 667)

    The ones taken out are:- 2 x 512MB 200pin DDR2 (PC2-4300) SODIMM. Speed 266MHZ (DDR2 533)

    Put one of each together & it works.

    Message was edited by: Keefy

  6. Re: Satellite A100 and memory upgrade
    #6
    Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,884
    Of course. You have upgraded memory to maximum but a part of RAM is reserved for graphic operations and due to this only 1,5 GB of RAM will be used for “standard” operations.

    Use Google and you will find many interesting web sites with exact explanation what shared memory is and how it works.

  7. Re: Satellite A100 and memory upgrade
    #7
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    The thing is that it won't work with both the 1GB cards. It will work with 1GB & 512MB. That is one of each.

    The onboard graphics is 256MB & this I have allowed for.

    Message was edited by: Keefy

  8. Re: Satellite A100 and memory upgrade
    #8
    Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,884
    Hi again and sorry for misunderstanding.

    This is typical problem when you use non-compatible modules for upgrade. Crucial is OK but many people on this forum have reported about same problems using Crucial RAMs. So maybe you should buy high quality RAM recommended by Toshiba or Kingston. Using these modules you will not have such problems.

    Compatible 1 GB RAM for your Satellite A100 is DDR2-400/533 (PA3411U-1M1G).
    Problem is that the "Value" RAM Modules use a lot of cheap chips utilizing multiple banks/channels, which can cause compatibility problems with some Chipsets/CPU's

  9. Re: Satellite A100 and memory upgrade
    #9
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks Mike30, that is a great help. Will now get some proper RAM. I couldn't understand that even Toshiba said I could upgrade to 2GB.

    When I spoke to Crucial, they said that Toshiba used 2 types of chipset for this model (strange). Anyway, thanks again for your help. Wish me luck. K.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •