Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to restore Equium P200-1IR back to factory settings?

  1. How to restore Equium P200-1IR back to factory settings?
    #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    How to restore Equium P200-1IR back to factory settings?

    I seem to have lost my disc. Is there any way i can make a recovery disk to reboot with or must I fork out money to Toshiba and have them send me another 1.

    I doubt this Laptop has the new HDD recovery utility via holding the "0" key at startup.

    Help please !

  2. Re: How to restore Equium P200-1IR back to factory settings?
    #2
    Master
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,164
    Have you got recovery DVD with your notebook?
    If not than your notebook was delivered with HDD recovery image.

    OK it is not important so much at the moment. Test it using method described in this document > http://aps2.toshiba-tro.de/kb0/HTD9102IR0000R01.htm

    Let me know if this will work.

  3. Re: How to restore Equium P200-1IR back to factory settings?
    #3
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    A disc did come with my Laptop however, i can't seem to find it anywhere sadly.

    I followed the F8 -> Repair Your Computer function, this lead me to a set of options

    - Startup Repair
    - System Restore
    - Windows Complete PC Restore (from backup)
    - Windows Memory Diagnositc Tool
    - Command Prompt
    - Restoring the complete Windows operating system

    I clicked on the last option only to receive this :
    " If preinstalled files are damaged, you can use the Product Recovery DVD-ROM to restore them"
    and that's all. So im guessing i don't have the HDD Recovery with this computer.

    Any ideas ? =(

  4. Re: How to restore Equium P200-1IR back to factory settings?
    #4
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,249
    Hey,

    I donít know if your notebook is equipped with HDD recovery or not but holding the ď0Ē key on startup is wrong. You have to start HDD recovery in advanced boot menu of Windows if itís available on your model.

    Check this!!!

  5. Re: How to restore Equium P200-1IR back to factory settings?
    #5
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,242
    If you got your notebook with recovery DVD that it was not delivered with HDD recovery option.
    I have old P200D and I got it with DVD only.

    >Any ideas ? =(

    Fact is that factory settings you can have using recovery disc only. If you donít have it you can try to order it under https://backupmedia.toshiba.eu/landing.aspx
    Other way you must use original Microsft installation disc.

  6. Re: How to restore Equium P200-1IR back to factory settings?
    #6
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    I didn't hold down the "0" key, i used the F8 key to reach the advanced boot menu then followed on to the "Repair Your Computer" option which brought me to the Full recovery menu.

    I didnt see any HDD Recovery selection for my model so I'm guessing i really need to find that recovery disk or somehow create 1 if its possible.

    I saw a link on google somewhere mentioning the ability to create a Vista 32-bit Recovery disc thanks to the NeoSmart tech company , I burnt the disc and managed to boot up with it , yet upon attempting to re-install Vista i get : Windows cannot open the required file E:\Sources\Install.wim is missing. Make sure all files required for installation are available, and restart the installation. Im guessing the iso image file was corrupt.

    Im totally out of ideas now :/ seems like its money for that recovery disc now :(

  7. Re: How to restore Equium P200-1IR back to factory settings?
    #7
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,249
    Hey,

    Yes, it seems that you have to buy a new recovery disk from Toshiba to restore factory settings.

    Itís not for free but donít forget with factory settings all settings, drivers, etc. are 100% pretested and everything will work properly so itís safe investment. :)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •