Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Portege R700-1CQ - ECO Utility and mousepad buttons not working

  1. Portege R700-1CQ - ECO Utility and mousepad buttons not working
    #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Suddenly the ecoUtility button and the mouspad activate/deactivation button stopped working?

    The ecoUtility is working if started manually via programs but isn't starting when pressing the ecoUtility button ...

    The mouspad isn't deactivated anymore if button is pressed ...

    I already removed and reinstalled the ecoUtility and the Value Added Package - no result?

    It's running under Windows 7 - 64bit ...

    Help is apreciated ...

    Regards

  2. Re: Portege R700-1CQ - ECO Utility and mousepad buttons not working
    #2
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,816
    Hi

    Hmm…. you are able to activate the Eco utility manually but it does not start automatically when pressing the button.
    This means that there must be an issue with some command buttons which executes the applications.
    Usually the VAP controls the multimedia buttons and therefore the new installation should fix this.

    I think you should try this;
    First of all uninstall the VAP from the system.
    Then clean the windows os using some free tools like CCleaner for example.
    This tool cleans the temporal garbage files and registry.
    I think some corrupt registry entries could cause this…
    Reboot the notebook and then install the VAP 64bit version.

    Good luck

  3. Re: Portege R700-1CQ - ECO Utility and mousepad buttons not working
    #3
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Hi Paolo30!

    Thanks for you effort - but I tried the steps you mentioned without any success ...

    Do you have other ideas as well?

    Regards

  4. Re: Portege R700-1CQ - ECO Utility and mousepad buttons not working
    #4
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,816
    Hmm…. this is very, very strange… I thought the VAP would help you…
    What to say, I think new recovery could be helpful… I mean you could try to set the OS back to factory settings using the recovery disk… this should help to get the buttons working again… if its option for you, then you could try this out…

  5. Re: Portege R700-1CQ - ECO Utility and mousepad buttons not working
    #5
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Yeah - I'm sure that a recovery will be a possible solution - but as this is a relativly new laptop (less than 1 week) this should be working after installing some programms...

    I do not have the time to do everytime if such an issue occure a complete restore including reinstalling and configuring every program i need ... :-)

    I think I have to live with this issue for the time beeing ...

    thanks for your ideas

  6. Re: Portege R700-1CQ - ECO Utility and mousepad buttons not working
    #6
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Possibly somebody of toshiba is reading this forum too and is having a solution for that issue? ...

  7. Re: Portege R700-1CQ - ECO Utility and mousepad buttons not working
    #7
    >... this should be working after installing some programms...
    In one point you have right – it SHOULD but Toshiba cannot give you guarantee that it will 100% work in combination with “some programs”.

    You wrote clearly in your first posting that eco utility “suddenly” stopped working. That means you got notebook with well working software. What happened later can be related to your usage, personal OS configuration or additional software you use.

    And if someone from Toshiba read this how should they help you when nobody even know which “programs” do you use.
    To fix some issue it is necessary to make analysis why this happen and check all possibilities why this happen.

    How to do this on this virtual way?
    I really don’t know what to say about it but one thing I know for sure: it is not easy to offer some solution to this.

    Generally speaking eco utility works, if I understood it right, and where is the problem to use it manually. Use FN+F3 and you can switch to eco mode in just two seconds.
    It is not much slower than using eco button. Isn’t it?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •