Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.

Thread: Portege R700 - freeze & fan

1. Portege R700 - freeze & fan

I've a two day old Portege R700 and it has developed a freeze and fan issue. Actually it kicked in on day one.
    Basically the screen freezes and the cooling fan kicks into gear and nothing else responds until you do the off & on again thing. Its happened a couple of times now on two different days.

Any ideas?
    Send it back?
    Download an amazing bit of software I currently know nothing about?
    Persevere on the toshiba website until I find out how to contact Toshiba directly rather than you good folk?
    Ignore it and hope it goes away?

Any advice welcome. Though please make it as basic as possible as I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to the technical stuff.

(Just in case you're thinking about overheating, based in the UK and it isn't a hot day and there is free air circulation around the laptop. The second freeze happened after only ~2h30 of use.)

2. Re: Portege R700 - freeze & fan
    It is not easy to discuss about such issues.
    1/ we donít know which OS do you use
    2/ OS configuration is not known to us
    3/ who knows which additional software do you use and what is running in the background
    4/ does this happen with AC power supply, battery power supply or in both cases

I really donít know what so say at the moment. What you can do, if possible, is to contact nearest authorized service, visit them, explain the situation and see what they will say about all this.

3. Re: Portege R700 - freeze & fan

Apologies for the lack of details & thanks for taking the time to respond.

Windows 7 32 bit.
    As it originally was, I have made no modifications other than loading any updates when I first switched the laptop on.

Office professional 2010