Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.

Thread: Tecra S11 Fresh Install

1. Tecra S11 Fresh Install
    Beginner
    Hello,

I'm a network and system builder so i think i know what i'm doing... although maybe one of you could help me solve this issue
    I'f contacted Toshiba Netherlands but the just don't know what to do... so you are my last hope;)

the story:

I'f bought a new Tecra S11 came with BIOS version 1.6 (very old i think)
    removed the original HDD and used a SSD instead.
    Installed a fresh WIndows 7 Profecional and tried to get everythink working....

Now fist of all I was unable to update the bios to version 1.7/2.0/2.2 (latest)

Toshiba Netherlands told me I needed to use the default Toshiba provided Image
    and that Toshiba didnít support BIOS updateís on non-preinstalled-OS's..... (which is really strange in my opinion!)

So I replaced my SSD with the original HDD (with original Image) and updated the bios... today to version 2.20 (latest)

Now when I install my SSD with my own Windows 7 installation (non-Toshiba install) Iím unable to install almost any
    of the Toshiba provided Utilities...
    For example the Eco utilities tells me after starting the setup "Unsupported BIOS"
    Iíve installed ALL Toshiba's utils and patches which ware passible... but half of it isnít!!!

bottom-line, is there a way to "force" the ECO and all other utilities that aren't working in a NON-Toshiba installation?

Any help would be appreciated! I just canít believe / except that there is now way to get a fresh windows install working the proper way
    with all Toshiba's Utils!

Thank you in advance,

Jacob

2. Re: Tecra S11 Fresh Install
    Beginner
    Have you considered cloning your old disk and replicating on the ssd?