Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.

Thread: Feedback sound at Satellite L450D

1. Feedback sound at Satellite L450D
    Beginner
    Just got my daughter a Satellite L450D-113.

She has suddenly experienced what I would describe as a nasty feedback sound if she turns the volume up at all while listening to any audio playback. I think it may have something to do with the mic, as it sounds as if it is switching on as the volume is turned up. Hopefully itís a case of adjusting settings, so if anyone can help it would be great if you keep your answer as simple as possible.

I am a total novice.
    Thanks, al.

2. Re: Feedback sound at Satellite L450D
    Master
    Can she hear the same noise if she uses the headphones?
    Does this happen with battery power supply only?

3. Re: Feedback sound at Satellite L450D
    Beginner
    I bought a Satellite L450D for my daughter for Xmas.
    It has the same problem.
    A kind of high pitched warbling noise through the headphone jack. Sounds the same with headphones, external laptop speakers, or plugged into the line-in on the hifi.
    But it only happens when I'm using the AC adapter for power.
    If I disconnect the AC and run on battery, then sound is perfect.
    I tried a 19v power supply from an older laptop and problem goes away, sound quality is great.
    It looks like the Toshiba power supply is the problem.
    My Toshiba power supply has a 3-pin 3-leaf-clover shape power cord connector. The other 19v power supply I tried uses 2-pin figure-8 power cord type. Not sure if the 3-pin versus 2-pin power type is significant, or whether the whole Toshiba power adapter is the problem.