Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: GPS Fully operational on Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g card

  1. GPS Fully operational on Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g card
    #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    25
    Hi

    Some good news. I have the GPS fully working on the Toshiba Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g 3G card. I would think the steps to make it operational will work on any Toshiba laptop with the same card.

    It requires new 3G drivers from Toshiba for the card which exposes the COM7 GPS port, some trickery with the COM port to get the card outputting location data (this would have been done by an application from Toshiba if they were supporting GPS), then it will work with any application that understands GPS.

    I've used Earth Bridge to check it is working and this enables tracking on Google Earth, see [image here|http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/2262/earthbridgepd2.png] (note I've blanked out my exact location as it pinpoints my front door). This signal was achieved with the laptop by a window.

    What I plan to do is make a small application to enable or disable the GPS receiver and will post up some instructions on how to set it all up, which is quite easy other than the Com port trickery which hopefully I can handle with a small free program.

    Regards

    Phil

    Message was edited by: Philip_l

  2. Re: GPS Fully operational on Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g card
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    398
    Hello Philip

    Thank you very much for this thread. It is really interesting stuff and it will be interesting to have a little bit longer and more detailed report about this. If you have some time please do this for this nice community.

    I just hope the moderator will pay attention about this and maybe offer you more space or even separated category for people like you.
    It will be great to have a kind of BLOGs here.

    Anyway, respect for your work and I hope to hear more about such interesting themes.

    Good luck!

  3. Re: GPS Fully operational on Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g card
    #3
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    25
    Hi

    Thanks for the support.

    I'm currently working on a small application to enable/disable GPS and will hopefully have it sorted out in a week.

    It's an added bonus to the Satellite Pro S300 as of course it isn't sold with GPS capabilities!

    Regards

    Phil

  4. Re: GPS Fully operational on Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g card
    #4
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    25
    Hi

    Still working on the application which is almost complete, just needs some testing and a few tweaks but it does work.



    Regards

    Phil

    Message was edited by: Philip_l

  5. Re: GPS Fully operational on Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g card
    #5
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    17
    Hallo Phil,

    I have interest about your gps enabler app.

    It is very good, ....

  6. Re: GPS Fully operational on Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g card
    #6
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    17
    How about the application? Any news?

  7. Re: GPS Fully operational on Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g card
    #7
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    25
    Hi

    Here we go, first version of the Toshiba GPS Enabler:

    Please note you will need:

    1) To install the latest BIOS update available for your laptop. For the Toshiba Satellite Pro S300 this is version 1.70 available [here|http://uk.computers.toshiba-europe.com/innovation/download_driver_details.jsp?service=UK&selCategory =2&selFamily=3&selSeries=208&selProduct=808&selSho rtMod=null&language=13&selOS=all&selType=all&yearu pload=2008&monthupload=12&dayupload=8&useDate=1&mo de=allMachines&search=&action=search&macId=&countr y=8&selectedLanguage=13&type=all&page=1&ID=66198&O SID=-1&driverLanguage=42]

    2) Install the latest Toshiba F3507g drivers from [here|http://cdgenp01.csd.toshiba.com/content/support/downloads/driver_3g_ericsson_28509A.exe]

    3) A SIM card must be present for the GPS to work, it doesn't matter if the SIM card is enabled or not for 3G, just that one is required for the card to come to life.

    The Toshiba GPS Enabler Version 1.0 is available at http://www.megaupload.com/?d=SD9Z08CL just run to install.

    Once 1 and 2 are done and a SIM card is installed, run the GPS Enabler and click the Start button. After a few seconds the status will change to "Waiting for a fix...". Please note you need your laptop outside for a fix or very near a window that has a good view of the sky. It can take 10 to 30 minutes for the first fix and may not get a fix in doors.

    For better information and integration with Google Earth, download the [Earth Bridge|http://mboffin.com/earthbridge] application. Set the GPS Com port in the application to listen to COM7.

    Once you have enabled the GPS you can exit out of the Enabler and the GPS port will continue to stream data. You may use any GPS application, just set it for COM port 7.

    Let me know how you get on.

    Regards

    Phil

    Message was edited by: Philip_l

    null

  8. Re: GPS Fully operational on Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g card
    #8
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    17
    Hello,
    yesterday, I downloaded app. Checked, that it realy works. I try it on road to my firm.
    My laptop is Tecra A10-11M.
    Very thank you!!!

  9. Re: GPS Fully operational on Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g card
    #9
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    17
    So,
    I have Vista, on my laptop, in Advanced settings, control com ports are: COM 4, COM 6.
    Sometimes,, when click to Start GPS, program says, that modem is disabled. But, I click again and then working.

    On road to my work, gps find 1.satelite.

    <a href="http://img21.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gpsno0.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/5122/gpsno0.th.jpg" border="0" alt="Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us" /></a><br /><br /><a href="http://img604.imageshack.us/content.php?page=blogpost&files=img21/5122/gpsno0.jpg" title="QuickPost">



    Message was edited by: korenisko

  10. Re: GPS Fully operational on Satellite Pro S300 with F3507g card
    #10
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    17
    <a href="http://img513.imageshack.us/my.php?image=80969150dy6.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/6511/80969150dy6.th.jpg" border="0" alt="Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us" /></a><br /><br /><a href="http://img604.imageshack.us/content.php?page=blogpost&files=img513/6511/80969150dy6.jpg" title="QuickPost"><img src="http://imageshack.us/img/butansn.png" alt="QuickPost" border="0"></a> Quickpost this image to Myspace, Digg, Facebook, and others!

    <a href="http://img17.imageshack.us/my.php?image=40746919jr6.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/6273/40746919jr6.th.jpg" border="0"/></a>
    <a href="http://img9.imageshack.us/my.php?image=25385453pt8.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/1388/25385453pt8.th.jpg" border="0"/></a>
    <a href="http://img14.imageshack.us/my.php?image=86933073gr8.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/6619/86933073gr8.th.jpg" border="0"/></a>
    <a href="http://img16.imageshack.us/my.php?image=15829802rr6.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/1340/15829802rr6.th.jpg" border="0"/></a>)
    <a href="http://img513.imageshack.us/my.php?image=80969150dy6.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/6511/80969150dy6.th.jpg" border="0"/></a>

    On road to home. Navigation app is Route 66 2003. GPS is enabled via virtual COM port 2, because Route can handle Com ports 1-6. :-).
    As shown in pictures, GPS shows the location a little outside the actual location. Gps is little slowed down. MiniGPS on frst picture receiving GPS data directly from COM7, and is too better then Route 66 via virtual com port 2.
    To navigation via town is too slow, but, for detection of current position and little navigation is super, fine.
    GPS works for about a low frequency, 1Hz or so, therefore, the position of renewing slowly...

    Thats all for now...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •