Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Portege M400 can't see more than ~3G

  1. Portege M400 can't see more than ~3G
    #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    I know this is a common problem but it doesn't seem solveable on my Toshiba M400.

    I have upgraded to 4GB RAM (2x2GB) and am running a 64-bit OS, yet the OS can only see ~3.3GB of the 4GB installed. The BIOS shows 4G. I understand some machines have a BIOS option to enable the OS to use all 4GB. Am I missing something, this feature doesn't seem to be available in the M400 BUIS.

  2. Re: Portege M400 can't see more than ~3G
    #2
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    8
    Which 64bit OS? If its Vista, try Service Pack 1.

    Also update the BIOS to the latest version.

    http://eu.computers.toshiba-europe.com/cgi-bin/ToshibaCSG/download_drivers_bios.jsp

  3. Re: Portege M400 can't see more than ~3G
    #3
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4
    Hello,

    I have the same problem, did you try with the latest bios update (bios-20080530120945.zip) ?
    Does it solve the problem ?

    I have activate the diagnostic option in the bios.
    Output is:
    Pass 1 checking memory 3328 MB ok
    Pass 2 checking memory 3328 MB ok
    Pass 3 checking memory 3328 MB ok
    Pass 4 checking memory 3328 MB ok

    I have tried with Memtest86, and it also shows only 3319 MB of memory.

    Roc.

  4. Re: Portege M400 can't see more than ~3G
    #4
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    I'll give the BIOS update a go. I thought I had the latest but it appears not. For the record I'm using 64-bit Ubuntu Linux.

  5. Re: Portege M400 can't see more than ~3G
    #5
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4
    For the record, I'm using Archlinux 32bits and Archlinux 64bits but with both distributions, the /proc/meminfo did not show more than 3328 MB.

    After reading this Toshiba Technical Support Bulletin (TSB82022E0000R01), I will update the BIOS to the latest version 3.80-WIN available.

  6. Re: Portege M400 can't see more than ~3G
    #6
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    Unsurprisingly upgrading the BIOS from 3.60 to 3.80 hasn't resolved this.

    alan@hactar:~$ cat /proc/meminfo
    MemTotal: 3347300 kB
    MemFree: 1874652 kB
    Buffers: 24916 kB
    Cached: 536108 kB
    SwapCached: 0 kB
    Active: 863232 kB
    Inactive: 381988 kB
    SwapTotal: 4192924 kB
    SwapFree: 4192924 kB
    Dirty: 8016 kB
    Writeback: 0 kB
    AnonPages: 684348 kB
    Mapped: 110392 kB
    Slab: 50228 kB
    SReclaimable: 31300 kB
    SUnreclaim: 18928 kB
    PageTables: 24068 kB
    NFS_Unstable: 0 kB
    Bounce: 0 kB
    CommitLimit: 5866572 kB
    Committed_AS: 1526832 kB
    VmallocTotal: 34359738367 kB
    VmallocUsed: 20720 kB
    VmallocChunk: 34359716859 kB

  7. Re: Portege M400 can't see more than ~3G
    #7
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4
    Same problem, upgrading the *BIOS* from 3.30 to *3.80* hasn't resolved this.

    bash-3.2$ uname -a
    Linux tosh 2.6.26-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 10 14:04:12 CEST 2008 *x86_64* Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5500 @ 1.66GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

    bash-3.2$ cat /proc/meminfo
    *MemTotal: 3340552 kB*
    MemFree: 2584276 kB
    Buffers: 49016 kB
    Cached: 498952 kB
    SwapCached: 0 kB
    Active: 353084 kB
    Inactive: 272608 kB
    SwapTotal: 2000084 kB
    SwapFree: 2000084 kB
    Dirty: 5404 kB
    Writeback: 0 kB
    AnonPages: 77716 kB
    Mapped: 30760 kB
    Slab: 107024 kB
    SReclaimable: 99756 kB
    SUnreclaim: 7268 kB
    PageTables: 3040 kB
    NFS_Unstable: 0 kB
    Bounce: 0 kB
    WritebackTmp: 0 kB
    CommitLimit: 3670360 kB
    Committed_AS: 167492 kB
    VmallocTotal: 34359738367 kB
    VmallocUsed: 68040 kB
    VmallocChunk: 34359669795 kB

  8. Re: Portege M400 can't see more than ~3G
    #8
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4
    Just have a look in this forum subject: *Satellite P100 supposed to be upgradable to 4GB, but it's not*


    The portege M400 like the satellite P100 use the chipset 945GM, this chipset cannot address more than 4GB and reserve too much memory under 4GB (around 750MB).

    There is nothing to do about it ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •