Welcome to the Toshiba Support Forum, created for customers and enthusiasts to share knowledge, solve problems and discuss technology. To join the discussion, please login or register.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Portege M200 - fixed at 598MHz

  1. Portege M200 - fixed at 598MHz
    #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    I have a Portege M200. The processor reports that it is 1800MHz but seems to be fixed running at 600MHz. The HWSetup program installed (v4.03) does not have a CPU tab although the documentation suggests that it should. Have downloaded HWSetup 4.2 but this reports an Error 401 when I run the installer. I would like to get the processor running at fuill speed - can anyone help me understand how to achieve this?

    Thanks

  2. Re: Portege M200 - fixed at 598MHz
    #2
    Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,578
    Hello David

    Can you please tell us more about your Portege? Is this second hand unit or is maybe the mainboard exchanged?

  3. Re: Portege M200 - fixed at 598MHz
    #3
    Hi

    I have read in this forum about a similar issue and mostly such it happens if the motherboard or the CPU was changed or repaired but the technician has forgotten to update the microcode.

    As far as I know only the authorized service provider can update the microcode. Therefore I think you should contact the guys in your country and ask for the further handling.

    Good luck

  4. Re: Portege M200 - fixed at 598MHz
    #4
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    I bought the m/c new. However, it was returned to Toshiba for a fix, which would have involved replacing the motherboard, about 6 months ago. I have only just now looked at the system diagnostics and realised that the clock speed is wrong.

    David

  5. Re: Portege M200 - fixed at 598MHz
    #5
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    I'll do that, thanks for the note. Now I just have to figure out when will be a good time to lose the machine for 2 weeks!

    D

  6. Re: Portege M200 - fixed at 598MHz
    #6
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    8
    Hi,

    Did you get this fixed? I have the same problem

    Andrew

  7. Re: Portege M200 - fixed at 598MHz
    #7
    Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,568
    @drakey78

    The solution is simply… the microcode must be updated.
    …unfortunately such update can be done only by Toshiba authorized service provider. Contact the guys in your country.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •