PDA

View Full Version : Satellite M30-304 - No WPA WPA2 listed in XP SP3



Peter Dorey
15.10.2008, 19:03
I have a 2nd hand Toshiba Satellite M30-304 with XP SP3 and trying to get wireless above just basic WEP 64 bits.

There seems to be no option other than none or WEP in XP.

Will a new Wireless LAN driver help?

Jeffrey
15.10.2008, 21:02
Hi

Please check this Microsoft article [How to implement WPA2-Personal wireless security on a Windows XP SP2-based computer.|http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/security/expert/bowman_wirelesssecurity.mspx]

I would appreciate a feedback from you

Peter Dorey
16.10.2008, 10:40
Just checking, do I still need to download an update, as SP3 is already installed?

Jeffrey
16.10.2008, 10:51
It’s worth a try!
But note; the WPA, WP2 WLan encryption can be only available if the WLan card would support it!!!

If your WLan card doesn’t support this kind of encryption then you will be not able to use or enable it!!!

Peter Dorey
16.10.2008, 11:30
How can I easily tell if my Intel(R) PRO/Wireless LAN2100 3B Mini PCI Adaptor can support WPA & WPA2 ?

Jayjay
16.10.2008, 11:38
Why you don’t search in google or on the Intel page.
The Intel(R) PRO/Wireless LAN2100 3B Mini PCI Adaptor is a Intel product ;)

Peter Dorey
16.10.2008, 13:08
Yes I did 'googleit' fairly early on in the investigation, but I couldn't find a site that told me!

Jayjay
16.10.2008, 13:18
Unbelievable that you couldn’t find details on Intel website….
I think you didn’t spend enough time for searching….

I found it:

[Intel PRO/Wireless 2100 LAN MiniPCI Adapters Types 3B|http://download.intel.com/support/wireless/wlan/pro2100/sb/2100mpciprodbrief.pdf]

And it seems that this card supports only WPA, 802.1X, EAP-TLS, 128-bit and 64-bit WEP encryption

Peter Dorey
16.10.2008, 16:20
Yes thanks Jayjay my time is currently v.very limited (at work) so didn't spend enough of it searching.

Another thing is that can only see 'Open' or 'WEP' in Network Authentication (from memory) no WPA; am wondering why and which bit of software (would have though XP SP3) will show WPA or WPA2 etc?

Ivan25
16.10.2008, 17:26
Hello

I have the same WLAN card in my old Tecra M1. This card works with WEP only.
If you need WPA or WPA2 you need other WLAN card. In my opinion you should buy USB WLAN option with latest driver and WLAN client. So you can do what you want.

Peter Dorey
16.10.2008, 19:10
...but that seems to conflict with the data sheet Jayjay kindly found me (as above)

http://download.intel.com/support/wireless/wlan/pro2100/sb/2100mpciprodbrief.pdf

and the datasheet says it supports WPA.

Message was edited by: yerodretep