PDA

View Full Version : How to turn wireless off in BIOS??

missn
15.07.2008, 19:03
Hi.

I am totally new to the more technical side of computers so please excuse me if I don't make much sense.

I have just bought the Satellite P200 specifically for a home business opportunity and there are many requirements that I am trying
to meet but seem to be failing.
I have submitted a Belarc report of the laptop to the company and they have advised that in order to use this laptop I must
have my wireless feature disabled in my BIOS.

I don't have a clue what this means and what I need to do?? I have read a few other topics online which have shed a bit of
light but I still don't know how to do it and also, if it is disabled does that mean I can no longer use it at all?

Basically I work online in my current line of work and use my laptop (with wireless) for this but this other business I am trying
to get into requires a disabled wireless network but i still want to use the wireless in my own time, is this possible?

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer,

Natalie.

HomerJ
15.07.2008, 19:54
I'm not sure if this funtion can be turned off in BIOS, as for my machine, you can't do this.

Ok, understand your problem, or better, those security restrictions of your company.
You can check, if you can turn off this feature, by pressing F2 on boot up of your notebook. This enters BIOS. There just navigate a bit, if you can find something with disabling wlan.

But you could ask them if it would be ok. when you just turn wlan off by using the hardware switch in front of your machine.

In order to use wlan for private you have to turn it back on, of course.

wpeake
16.07.2008, 01:53
Natalie,

As HomerJ mentioned there is possibly little options on turning off wifi in BIOS settings.
If your company is that security conscious and simply do not wish for you to use a wifi connection, navigate to the device manager (or network connections), right click and select 'disable'.