PDA

View Full Version : Portege 2010 & Vodafone 3G Datacard



martynreeves
09.04.2005, 11:10
I'm experiencing problems getting a Vodafone 3G datacard to work on a Portege 2010. All installations from Vodafone run OK but inserting the PCMCIA card 9 times out of 10 leads to the drivers trying to be re-loaded and when they do load the other 1 time out of 10 the device OPTi 82C861 PCI to USB contoller fails and gets a question mark besides it in device manager. Needless to say Vodafone blame the hardware.

martynreeves
09.04.2005, 11:13
BTW, the Portege is running XP Pro SPII

Horwath
11.04.2005, 11:24
Hi

Did you already contact Vodafone? Check also FAQ site on Vodafone site. Maybe they have experience with these specific problems. Try to disable Toshiba modem.

martynreeves
11.04.2005, 12:54
Yes, I've checked with Vodafone and they suggested installing their latest software but this is running at a higher level than the driver and it's unsurprisingly not worked. Drived disabling the inbuilt modem and still no joy. Thanks for the suggestions.

Kutlaya
13.04.2005, 15:25
Hey there ,

One more suggestion :)

Could you please access the Bios setup screen ( by holding down the ESC key while booting up ) then go to the second page by pressing the page down key . on the second page you will see some options . then change the device config option ( which is under configuration ) to ALL DEVICES ( you can do that by pressing the space bar key ) and then on the left side there is another option PC CARD , below that you'll see Controller Mode that needs to be changed to PCIC Compatible.

Then you need to press the "end" key on your keyboard and save the changes and try again :)

Hope this helps

Cheers