PDA

View Full Version : No sound is coming out from the speaker

oakesk
19.05.2007, 13:03
I am a novice. I can't hear any sound from my speakers, not even when I turn my laptop on. There are no mute selections on my sound / volume control.

DennisFarina
19.05.2007, 21:57
Hi,

Did you ever had sound with your machine? A try would be to reinstall your system with the recovery CD. Just backup your important files and then just make a recovery.
After that you should have sound.

Greets

carriemac
25.05.2007, 15:18
I am having the same problem. Brand new Sat P100-434 on Vista. No problem with sound until last night. Watching something on MSNBC and then no sound. Nothing works. Volume is up, devices say they are working properly, headphones don't work either. Very frustrating! What can it be? Is it fixable? Help!

Silas
25.05.2007, 17:22
Check with FN+ESC if speakers are set to MUTE option.

carriemac
25.05.2007, 17:47
I checked that, it wasn't the problem. Just did a System Restore and the sound is back. I also uninstalled Real Player, will re-install that later on. System Restore did the business now, fingers crossed. Have no idea what caused the problem. Hope it doesn't come back!

Silas
25.05.2007, 18:09
Hi Carrie

Thanks for the feedback!!!

carriemac
25.05.2007, 21:23
I spoke too soon!!! :( :( Sound came back just fine, re-installed Real Player, and not long after the sound went again. Went to System Restore again but the previous earlier point was now gone - and no other System Restores could get the sound back.

So I know the sound works, it's a conflict somewhere - where, I am not sure. Probably with Real Player but even with it uninstalled, the sound doesn't come back, so if it is RP, whatever it did to tweak the sound doesn't get undone with an uninstall?