PDA

View Full Version : Portege 3440CT Problem running slow XP PRO OS

richjo22
22.03.2006, 19:20
I have recently purchased the above notebook which is running XP PRO. It has a problem that when turned on it takes 1 hour to load the OS. When the operating system is loaded, any keystrokes or commands can take up to 1/2 hour to acknowledge.

It has worked fine in the past.

It is not displaying any error messages.

I can not run any tests as the OS is so slow.

It has a 50GB hard drive which is unusual for this model.

I want to reload the OS but dont have original Toshiba recovery discs or CD drive, FDD.

If I format the HDD through DOS and request the laptop to boot from CD, which port does it think the CD is connected to. If it is the PCMCIA slot does this not first have to have the drivers loaded.

Does the FDD connect to the port replicator or directly to the notebook and could I boot from here.

I have an XP home disc or Windows 98SE boot floppy.

I have limited knowledge of computers, can any one help please.

Ivan25
23.03.2006, 12:21
Hi

If it has worked well in the past how should we now why it doesn’t work well anymore. Who knows what did you done.
I recommend you to:
- “clean up” the OS
- Remove all useless applications
- Scan the HDD for viruses and spyware
- check the msconfig tool and disable all start up items that you don’t need
- use disk defragmenter and the access to the HDD will be faster

If you have a limited computer knowledge talk with your friends. Maybe some of them can help you.

richjo22
23.03.2006, 18:29
I would love to do what you have suggested but cant as the notebook wont accept any commands.

If someone could explain how you would reload the OS (not from a windows menu) I could probably take it from there.

Jimi
23.03.2006, 18:58
Hi

Maybe this post could be interesting for you:
http://forums.computers.toshiba-europe.com/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=11723