PDA

View Full Version : Tecra 8100 - RAM upgrade



torres-537702414
16.02.2006, 16:04
Does anyone know if it's possible to add 2x256mb ram to the tecra 8100? The manual says the maximum for each stick is 128mb but I'm guessing that was the largest amount being manufactured at the time.

R2D2
16.02.2006, 16:26
Hi

As far as I know you can upgrade the memory to max 512MB an as you suggested there are 2 memory slots available.

R2D2
16.02.2006, 16:28
At the bottom of the unit you should find a memory slot cover.
You have to remove it. There you should find the slots.

By the way, you can use these memory modules:

PC100 256MB (PA3051U-1NME)
PC100 128MB (PA3005U)
PC100 64MB (PA3004U)

Pedro
16.02.2006, 16:56
Hi

R2D2 is right. Two slots are available and you can use 2x 256MB of RAM because the unit can handle with 512 MB max.

Bye

carsten888-537671787
17.02.2006, 20:58
same question here, but more...

what sort of ram, sdram?

what socket? 168pins?

are you sure no more then 512mb?

tokafondo
09.05.2006, 14:09
I'm having 512MB of RAM in my Tecra 8100 using 2 x PA3051U-1NME modules.

rzzz
19.07.2006, 02:22
Hi,

Has anyone succeeded in upgrading their Tecra 8100 using non Toshiba Tecra 8100 "specially designed" memory such as PC100 256MB (PA3051U-1NME), PC100 128MB (PA3005U), PC100 64MB (PA3004U)

I'm interested in upgradeing to 512M using 2 standard 256M PC100 SODIMMes that are from Micron or Kingston. I was planning to use low density SODIMM (16 chips).

I wanted to check before I went out and bought less expensive memory.

Thanks,

tanlisa
19.07.2006, 09:30
Hi R2D2, d'u know if the same apply to Tecra 8000?

i.e. max (PC100 256MB (PA3051U-1NME)) x 2

thanx
Lisa

R2D2
19.07.2006, 09:42
Hi guys

Please visit this website. There you will find all informations about memory modules for the Tecra units.
http://www.orcalogic.co.uk/asp/memoryfinder.asp?pt_id=5820&ft=m&st=3

@tanlisa: According to this page you have to use 144-Pin PC100 SODIMM memory modules. Other modules will not work. Furthermore you can upgrade it to max . 256MB

@rzzz: The Tecra 8100 supports max 512MB (2x256MB) memory. You have to use also 144-Pin PC100 SODIMM modules. You should know that Toshiba or Kingston modules have a better performance and quality as no-name memory modules.

tanlisa
19.07.2006, 11:56
thanx R2D2 for the "top" stars info. i've learned a lot on this Toshiba forum since i joined.
Lisa

R2D2
19.07.2006, 12:01
Me too.
I learn all the time here in our community ;)